How do You Organize Your Fly Boxes?

Letort

Letort

Or maybe, do you organize your fly boxes?
ra
I mainly fish blue lines, spring creeks and free stones, which of course have different hatches / needs.

Right now, I have a Simms guide vest loaded down with everything I would ever need. However, I have two other vests, both Fishpond, one of which I would set up for blue lines and the other for spring.

So, how do you set up your fly box? By hatches, by attractor vs. mayfly stone, etc., by stream, time of year, etc?

I've been flyfishing for over 40 years, so I think I should of figured it out by now :)

My fly box system is pretty chaotic and I carry a lot of flies when fishing. Short version:

-Chest box with nymphs in front tray, dries in middle tray, and dries and junk flies in back tray.
-Terrestrial box
-Midge box
-Streamer box
-Scuds,cressbugs, sculpins box

-Two separate boxes for bass flies.
-Large box for musky flies with a smaller box that fits in my vest pockets that can hold three or four muskie flies for when I'm wading.

(Have many more boxes for species/places that I visit less often.)

I use George Daniel's "working box" system. I have a small box with flies I expect to use that day/time of year. All my other boxes are separated by nymphs, dries, streamers, bass, carp, general salt, redfish and tarpon.

I use two small clear 4-6 compartment boxes.

They are like 3 by 4 inches. Nymphs in one box, dries in the other.

Compared to most I am totally unorganized but I can find a fly I’m looking for in 10 seconds or so , not a big deal for me.

I much prefer not having to carry a lot of the items- if I have my jacket tippet, boxes go there. Water goes in small of my back held up by my wading belt. Phone, keys, nipper, hemos go in waders pocket.

Unless I’m gone most of the day- needing food and more water I’ll take a sling pack. But honestly these days that’s gonna be pretty rare. I no longer go out for 8-12 hours.