High water effect trout?

P

pdmatak

I'm new at fly fishing and not experienced in what to do in certain situations and With all this rain we got this past few days I was wondering if the high water will effect the trout and if it does how and what should you doing this weekend for opening day.

Well first of all, the effect depends heavily on what the conditions are in the specific stream (and even the specific part of the stream) that you intend to fish.

One good heavy rainstorm in an area might leave a major creek unfishable for 2-3 days, while a high-gradient trib to it might only be blown out for a few hours, if at all. Likewise, a rocky, swift flowing creek will tend to stay clearer, and clear faster than a slower, mud bottomed stream which may stay cloudy for days.

That aside, though, assuming your particular creek is fishable, but just somewhat high and has some color to it, it may actually improve the fishing.

Typically a color tint in the water, in my experience, makes the fish less spooky, and more willing to strike than clear. Faster/higher flow may convince more fish to get out of the main current and hang out in relatively calm pools near the banks, and stick closer to the bottom.

In these conditions, again, in my experience, dries are drastically less effective, and the nameof the game is nymphs and streamers in the slow current areas. For those nymphs and streamers, I usually go bigger (by about 1 or 2 hook sizes) and darker or brighter than I normally might...black, purple, dark red, claret, dark brown, dark olive...or chartreuse, hot pink, neon green, fluorescent orange, etc. Estaz, metallic tinsel, flashabou and similar reflective materials will also help your fly to get noticed in the low visibility conditions too.

This is all general trends, though. Above all, don't be afraid to experiment.

Cold wrote: