Help Selecting Rod

• Thread starter Rusty_Shackelford
  • Start date
Rusty_Shackelford

Rusty_Shackelford

I have an 8' 4wt Redington CT that I enjoy on my local medium sized streams however I find myself wanting something lighter and a little shorter on the smaller streams or tighter stretches where i often only have a few feet on line out. I am going to purchase a new shorter lighter rod and over-line it with 4wt line, would a 2wt CT be a good option for this? I have tried glass and found it a little too flimsy for me but it seems that a light graphite rod with a moderate action like the CT would have a similar feel without being overly noodley. $150 is about my limit and sadly I am unable to try any rods before purchase so I must count on the testimonials of those more experienced than myself. I considered the 3wt CT but it seems somewhat redundant considering I already own a 4wt.

Short answer: maybe. I have no experience with a CT 2wt and it wouldn't matter if I did. Likely it would be fine.

Long answer:
1. there are many ways to do it, so there a many "right" answers and you will likely hear some of them here.

2. "I have tried glass and found it a little too flimsy for me" Glass is just a material which is less important than how the rod designer uses the material. There are different types of glass some are less noodley that others.

3. "$150 is about my limit" I would (and have for the majority of my rods) buy used.

4. The 2wts I have (in my opinion) are much better with a 3wt line than a 4wt, not that means anything.

An 8' 4wt is a nice small stream rod.

But if you want something shorter, you might try a St. Croix 7 ft 3 wt.

A buddy of mine had that rod and I fished with it for awhile and was very impressed.

It has a lot of punch for a 7 ft 3 wt. You can cast big shaggy dry flies and really SEND it.

It wasn't over-lined.

I don't remember which St. Croix model it was. And that model may not even be made anymore.