Head cement substitute?

jreichel

jreichel

I'm out of head cement and a drive to the closest fly shop would break the bank in gas, LOL! Is there a substitute that could be purchased at say Walmart or Home Depot, etc?

My local dollar store has super glue with a brush applicator for a $1, I have been using that for a couple months and am happy with it for most of my flys. If I want a gloss head I have been using hard as nails finger nail polish ( again from the dolllar store ) and like it as well.

Buffalo

Sally Hansen, Hard as Nails. Nail polish and cheaper than head cement. Used by alot of tyers.

i always use sally hansen,i get it several bottles at a time and get rid of it when it starts to get thick.

i also use black nail polish,but i get that at an asian nail place,no specific brand.

i used a product called "duco cement " in a pinch, not sure if they still make it but it seemed to work ok

I ran out a long time ago and never bought it again. I guess I sacrifice durability, but I don't really miss it that much.

I stopped using head cement altogether about a year ago and I don't miss it.

Thanks every one, I may or may not get some nail polish! :)

Like Jack, I stopped using head cement. I whip finish all my flies and never have the head come undone without using cement. I do use head cement for some streamers and flies with built up heads. As some pointed out "Sally Hansen's Hard as Nails" is hard to beat for coating streamers and wing cases .

BTW Shakey, acetone is a thinner for Sally Hansen's.

Goop thinned with Toluene..makes a great vinal cement..

i support Nail polish.