GPS on the laptop

Z

zuno412

Does anyone here use a GPS receiver in conjunction with software on their laptop? A guy I work with was telling me about the concept, and the realtime navigation on the big screen seems pretty slick. The receivers aren't too pricey and basically serve the same purpose; I was mostly wondering about the software. Anyone have experience / opinions?

-Kurt

There is a lot of information out there about this, but I'll tell you what I know. Google Earth is able to display your Garmin GPS points and tracks if you download an attachment called DNR Garmin, available at http://www.dnr.state.mn.us/mis/gis/tools/arcview/extensions/DNRGarmin/DNRGarmin.html .

There is an expensive piece of software called ArcView that is capable of making great maps and interacting with a GPS, but the expense makes it not worth it for the general public.

I have heard that the less expensive DeLorme Atlas is a great resource and can interact with GPS, but I have no experience with it. Anybody else out there?

I know you can add a GPS receiver to a laptop. I've always wondered about the usefulness. As someone who repairs PC's for a living, the last thing I would want to do is drive around with the laptop's harddrive spinning. You're begging for a crashed disk. Maybe if you have a "ruggedized" laptop that would be different. I also don't see hiking with a laptop. Finally, the battery life on most laptops preclude this use anyway. Maybe I am missing something.

Anyway, I have GPS software from Garmin on my laptop and a Garmin handheld. I can use the software on my laptop to plan routes, set waypoints and specify the maps to download to the handheld. But I use the handheld when I go out. After I use it, I can upload and save the GPS information on my computer.