Good rod and real or not?

A

Adderall22

How is everyone today? I am new here so it is a pleasure to talk with you all. Anyways I do have a quick question. For Xmas my girlfriends mom bought me a new fly rod and real combo.

It is a Cabala's Cahill 9'0" 8wt. 4-piece

Can anyone please tell me if this is a good combo or not? I am new to fly fishing, this is my second year doing this so any input will be highly appreciated.

Thank you!

An 8wt is a pretty heavy duty stick. It should be great for bass, carp, and most generic warm water fishing. While it is usable for trout, it is definitely not optimal.

Agreed!

Although I did learn on a 7wt.

So i take it that I would not have much luck with trout at all? If so that's a bummer because I only trout fish.

Adderall22 wrote:
So i take it that I would not have much luck with trout at all? If so that's a bummer because I only trout fish.

You will catch trout. You will just have issues effectively using the rod, and your arm will be way more tired than it should be.

Do you spin fish? If so, it would be about the equivalent of using a 9' long handled bass/light salt spinning rod on a trout stream. Usable, but far from the best tool for the job.

If it's your only rod, by all means use it. If you take to fly fishing, treat yourself to a more specialized stick in the future, and you will have trout, warmwater, and small salt water covered with your two rods.

I use an 8wt for bass, and lake fishing, but also it is my steelhead rod. It is ideal for fighting larger fish, or throwing line a bit farther, or both. I would take that up to Erie or NY and get into steelhead in a heartbeat.

A good all around rod for trout is probably a 9 foot 5wt. That is what "most" people start out with when they first start fly fishing.

The larger wt rod, the heavier and more capable of catching larger fish... the smaller wt rod is for more delicate casting and smaller fish as a general rule.