Getting the hang of this.

laurelrun

I fished the Yellow Breeches FFO section last evening from about 6:45pm until dark - 9:10pm. Water temp was just below 60 degrees in the main stream. Being a newbie, I am still most comfortable trying to work out the kinks on water that I know holds fish and that I also know is cool on a warm summer night. There were at least a half dozen other anglers there, but plenty of space for everyone to have their room to work.

I crossed the Breeches near the end of the run to get my waders wet and cool, and noticed a nice seam made by a downed tree near where I wanted to walk out to the path. I had tied on an ant dropped from an elk hair caddis, and dropped my first cast almost exactly where I thought it should be. Rewarded with a quick dart and refusal from a smallish brown. Next cast, he slammed the ant and darted into the fast current. Somehow the caddis hooked onto some mono caught in the log, so I had to walk over to release about a 7 inch brown and untangle my rig. Not bad for a cast "on the way" to where I wanted to fish.

I walked downstream a quarter mile or so and worked a few areas of downed logs and slower seams with my intention to be back at the run for dark. Found one riser in a pool but couldn't see any bugs coming off with any frequency. While I was plotting my approach with my rig drifting in the current, I felt a tug, only to LDR a quick jumper of some kind. Note to self: pay attention. After spoiling a few nice pockets by snagging myself and unhooking some branch fish, I worked my way up to the riser I had seen. Was getting discouraged as I worked the pool, knowing there was definitely a fish there. On probably my 12th cast or so, he absolutely slammed the ant and was off into the current. A nice fish, which I netted after a few aerobatics. 12" brown, nice and fat.