Freezing guides and line

kelso2340

kelso2340

I was thinking about going to spring creek tomorrow. It's suppose to be a high of 25 degrees. This is my first year of winter fishing and I have been out when it's between 5-15 and it's pointless because the guides freeze and like become rope. Do you think this would happen at temps between 15-31? And if so, do you guys even try to fish of just hang out and relax for the day.

It will happen at any temp below 32. Not trying to be a wise guy there, it's just more a question of how fast it happens. Obviously the colder it is, the faster the guides and line freeze and the more often you have to de-ice them. Depends on your tolerance for de-icing frequency and how bad you want to fish I suppose.

My general experience is as long as its at least in the upper 20's the ice forming is a slow enough process that its still more fishing than de-icing. Once you hit the mid 20's and below the ice starts to win out and it gets frustrating.

Wind is a big factor for me in cold weather. If you have the time to get out tomorrow, give it go. At the very least you can check out the stream if it isn't much of a drive.

If you rub lip balm or chapstick on your guides it'll buy you a little time before they ice up. If you're false casting a lot your line will ice up anyway. I say fish. I love fishing in the cold.

If you're nymphing if you can high stick it most of the time and your guides will not freeze up as fast because you're not running a wet line through the guides constantly. But like said before, even doing that with enough wind it's only a matter of time before you're crunching ice out of the guides. Be careful getting the ice out, rods have been broken doing that. I fish regularly in the mid 20's go get em, they're hungry. :-D

dip rod in water and shake,shake,shake to remove water.

pete41 wrote:
dip rod in water and shake,shake,shake to remove water.

"shake shake shake - shake shake shake - shake your booty!"

"It's your duty"