Foam Hoppers

JakesLeakyWaders

JakesLeakyWaders

I went to the craft store the other week and picked up 1/8 inch thick sheets of colored foam in light green, light brown, dark brown and black.

I also picked up some detailing markers in green, red, brown, and black.

I used plastic strands from a broom and melt the ends to make little bead eyes on a few hoppers.

Some of my hoppers have rubber legs and others have foam legs. I like to try something different every time I tie something. I don't particularly have a stardard way to tie most of my flies. I change them up until I see something I like and I try to copy that.

I'm new at tying so I do a lot of experimenting, trust me some of the stuff I tie is hideous and I wouldn't want anyone to see it. Plus I always use too many wraps of thread.

Here are four patterns that I kinda like, they're not exactly as I had imagined, but they just might go in my fly box. I took the pics with my stream camera on macro mode.

Attachments

• Foam hopper 1.JPG
    Foam hopper 1.JPG
    677.8 KB · Views: 15
  • Foam hopper 2.JPG
    Foam hopper 2.JPG
    775.4 KB · Views: 3
  • Foam hopper 3.JPG
    Foam hopper 3.JPG
    744.3 KB · Views: 2
  • foam hopper 4 .JPG
    foam hopper 4 .JPG
    741.4 KB · Views: 2
Nice job Jake! I love foam for fly tying and now make virtually all my terrestrials with it. To be sure, deer hair is more durable than foam but in every other area, esp floatability, ease of tying, and realism, foam is far superior IMO.