Fly-tying

Chetty82

Chetty82

Its been a while since I have been on this forum and was thinking of trying to get better on tying flies. They look alright but just could be tweaked better to be more of a quality fly. My question to all you out there is is there any books or maybe a school out there that could help me hone in my fly-tying. Any input would be great.

Watch some you tube videos. Kelly galloups vids are goo and he gives a lot of tips.i heard once that it takes an average tier 10 dozen of a pattern to master it. Keep practicing and GO SLOW. I think my flies look ******.

I was thinking of going to Spruce creek outfitters one day and talking to Allan again to see if I could possibly talk to one of his tiers. And possibly see if I can spend some time with one of them. Also since I am still starting out and learning different things I think getting a guide and taking the beginners course over there would be extremely beneficial as well. I only live about 15 minutes or less from there. And I only live about 7 minutes from the Barree. Moved closer to the Little Juniata so I think thats why my interest in fly-tying has perked up more. That and buying flies individually is getting a little expensive.

this is my favorite to learn from,

http://www.amatobooks.com/mm5/merchant.mvc?Screen=PROD&Store_Code=AmatobooksCom&Product_Code=157188369X&Category_Code=

Chetty,
Definitely hit Spruce Creek Outfitters.
Many local Trout Unlimited chapters and sportsmen's clubs offer tying classes, sometimes for free or a reasonable fee. And yes, Youtube is terrific.

Davie McPhail on you tube.

One more thing My buddy gave me a fly he had found and wanted me to ask some of you more experienced anglers what it is. It looks like a prince nymph but the body is composed of a red dubbing and a blue mylar wrap but as said before everything else looks like a prince nymph. Here is the photo of it.

http://tinyurl.com/d3na9am

Chetty82 wrote: