fly rod blank question

• Thread starter TheWalkingTrout
  • Start date
T

TheWalkingTrout

I was considering buying a fly rod blank and kit that includes everything but the thread and varnish to finish the rod. How hard is this process? I've never built a rod before and was wondering if it's worth saving some money and doing it myself? How expensive is the thread and varnish? Recommendations? Where can I purchase the thread and varnish?

I wouldn't suggest going the rod building route if the only goal is to save money. The learning process can be slow and frustrating if you're doing it for reasons other than learning a new craft. Once you hone your skills, you can save money on rods.

You can get all of the stuff you're looking for by searching google for "rod building". Cabelas also carries rod building supplies.

not hard at all, plenty of places on the web to learn from.
i get most of my stuff from hook and hackle because they're a PA business. http://www.hookhack.com/

if they don't have want you need, try www.mudhole.com
they also have building instructions in the site.

I have the flex coat instructional DVD, your welcome to have it if your out my way. Its not that helpful, but covers the basics.

Also, check out this forum. any ?s you have will most likely already been discussed. http://www.rodbuildingforum.com/

Lastly, is it worth it to build your own, you ask? Yes, until you break it or want to sell it.

I say go for it and enjoy! If you like it, you can certainly get higher end rods you otherwise could never afford or real cheap blanks off e-bay to fill the gaps in your fly rod line up.

TWT,