Fishing during the spawn

jjensen35

jjensen35

Guys,

I'm not that experienced and need some advice. I usually don't get a chance to fish during the Fall, but I got out on Spring Creek this last week. Tough fishing for me and most everyone I talked to for understandable reasons since I found that the spawn was on. I was careful to not disturb them or their beds as much as possible. Can sure understand why this isn't the best time to fish since they've got other things on their minds. Caught just a couple on a black zebra midge. Read a lot of commentary about this time frame being a good time to just leave them alone and can sure understand that, but I don't get that many opportunities to fish and need some suggestions on tactics and patterns that would be respectful of letting them spawn, but also give me a chance to catch those not on the beds or perhaps the Rainbows who aren't spawning.

Any help or suggestions would be appreciated.

Hi jjensen,
Your conscientious outlook is commendable. If you check out the general forum there is some discussion of the issue of fishing wild trout streams during the spawn. My advice would be to leave browns alone that are on redds or in areas where there are a lot of redds (this includes very obvious parts of Spring Creek). Focus your efforts in "fishy" water where you don't see redds. Also watch for risers. Rising trout probably aren't spawning and can be ethically targeted (IMO). Slower, deeper, pools on Spring Creek usually have rising fish year round. Midges and small terrestrials are usually dependable on this risers. Egg flies work well in the fall. Trout, both browns and rainbows, eat eggs when they're available. Sometimes, in the fall, if I see browns spawning, I'll check a few feet below them - you'll often see a rainbow waiting for eggs or bugs kicked out by the raucous browns. Show that 'bow an egg and you should hook up. Just keep that egg away from the browns on the redds as they will eat them too.