First fish on own tie

dasofas

dasofas

Went out Sunday night with the first batch of dasofas authentic ties. I figured after 15 years of fly fishing I needed a new hobby. I caught a few, lost a couple more, and went home completely stoked. Was so excitied to tell someone, and my wife gave me the ol' Heisman. So after talking to her hand for a few I figured I would share the excitement with some others that understand, and maybe put a call out to hear some of the stories of when you fooled your first trout on your own tie.

Now if I can figure out how to tie something other than a wooly bugger..... :-D

Nice job! Its always a good feeling catching a fish on your own flies.

Hope you retired the fly?

The first fish I took on a self-taught hare's ear was a nicely sized brown. The fish went back, and the fly was cut off.

Its currently in a little box tacked to my wall at work, it was a convienent place to put it.

The first fish I took on a dry fly took a parachute sulphur. That one got clipped off and is in a little box at home, too.

I wish I could say I did something cool with the fly, but unfortunately I kept fishing it and eventually got it caught up rolling it on the bottom of a deeper pool. :-(

The first trout I ever caught on a fly I tied was a 9" stocked brook trout out of McLaughlin Run in Crawford County.

The year was 1965. The fly was a size 10 Montreal wet fly which I was able to make because my first fly tying kit purchased from that criminal George Leonard Herter had all this purple/claret crap in it that had no other use than to make a Montreal.

If you've ever seen a Montreal wet, you know this was a once in a lifetime experience.

Here's a Montreal wet: http://www.classictrout.com/wetflies/m/montreal_wet.jpg

Good Stuff !!

Nice- indeed.

Had a similar experience not too long ago- also lost the fly.