Fall flies

jwatts

jwatts

Hello, i am a little new to understanding the right flies to use. My question is,What kind of flies/size should i be using around oct-nov in Northeastern Pa.? Thank you for your time

From A&G Outfitters (****son City) website:

Hatches out now, and heading further into the fall, will be BWO's (18-22), Tan and Olive Caddis (16-20), and Midges (20-24). Brown Stoneflies, Olive Caddis Pupas, Pheasant Tails, Zebra Midges, and others, should all be successful nymph patterns.

Also, check your PM inbox

During fall season, you can't go wrong with egg pattern! 18-20/size.

Jwatts,
You can use all types of trout flies in NE PA in autumn. Hatches (emerging insects coming from the water) are not as prevalent in the fall as they usually are in the springtime. Terrestrials work well in the fall, esp before about Nov 1st ("terrestrials" means flies designed to look like land insects such as ants, beetles etc). To be any more specific would require more specific scenarios.

I fished for stockies today in Roaring Brook. They were hitting black and black/olive wooly buggers and an orange beadhead pheasant tail variant(no wing case).

CathyG wrote:
I fished for stockies today in Roaring Brook. They were hitting black and black/olive wooly buggers and an orange beadhead pheasant tail variant(no wing case).

Thanks for the report & fly patterns.

Thanks cathy, I was on the Lehigh near Gouldsboro this morn. Not to much hitting. I was using an egg cluster made from diamond braid and then switched to a parachute as it got warmer,but nothing.

Rainbow warrior, san juan's, eggs, buggers, ETC. Basically any fly pattern will work but why waste the good ones, fish the easiest ones to tie. Don't let anybody tell you one is better than the other. My experience has shown stocked fish don't care one bit.
Good luck

I agree!!! Just fish flies you have confidence in and you will catch fish. No need to match anything, Just give them candy flies. LOL