Eggs for Salmon River

Nate540

Nate540

Just a quick question. I'm tying up some eggs for Steelhead on the Salmon river next month. Just not sure about size. These are tied on #8 hooks. Does this look good for diameter? Also what other colors would you tie? Blood dot or not?

Thanks

Attachments

• Eggs.jpg
    Eggs.jpg
    140.9 KB · Views: 14
BTW thats a #12 PT in front of them

I used to tie sz 10 for steel. Pink, cerise, orange were my favorite colors. Blood dot is a personal preference, but can't hurt.

Those you have look great. The smallest one to the far right seems the best size to me.

Just back from a trip and every fish I landed with a legal hook up was on an egg on a #8 hook. Pink, orange, and purple were the hot colors. Some estez. Some globug yarn. You should be all set.

Oh what a timely post. I have been tying for over 25 years and this " simple" pattern give me fits. I use glow bug yarn too and although I don't think the fish really mind my flies never end up like little balls. There is always a little seam in the middle at the tie in point.

I am using 140 denier thread, the homemade egg tool, 2 "X" wraps pulled tight and still can't get yarn to flare into a complete ball. Just always seem to get 2 disks help,!!!.

I should mention that I can get the nice egg shape but only if I make eggs that are about two sizes too big

I use this pattern. So it's definitely not a perfect sphere. I also add a bead. The fish didn't seem to mind at all. Plus you can crank them out fast. I used about 75 of these last weekend, losing many to the rocks and many to the fish. Also, I am now a big fan of Sabre's hooks. The globug salmon/steelhead model in 2X heavy performed flawlessly.

https://youtu.be/i6jy8OxNIRw

When I'm tying other globugs, I find a tighter pull upward as I snip the yarn yields the best sphere. But it still requires some teasing out. For tiny eggs, i tie an Antron veiled egg.