Dry flies without hackle

jeremymcon

jeremymcon

Ok so I've been tying flies for a couple months now, and I've only tied a few dries. My problem is that I don't want to buy any hackle yet. It's really expensive! I thought about just getting a grizzly hackle and doing what I can with it, but I know I'll end up spending too much money, so until I start my new job in late august I'd like to do without.

So I'm looking for dry fly patterns that don't include hackle. I'm aware of comparaduns, foam beetles, and have tied a few basic ones.

I have a tuft of cdc that I'd like to use for dry flies too. Just not sure what patterns to include it in. I may try that cdc trico comparadun pattern that was posted in another thread.

And tips/suggestions would be great. I'd especially like to tie a dry ant pattern that actually floats. I was thinking foam and deer hair for extra float, but couldn't find a pattern like that, and couldn't seem to make it work.

floating has a lot to do with materials used besides the hackle, and how you use them. Some synthetic dubbings don't absorb water as much as some natural furs. Stiff tailing fibers tend to support the fly in the surface tension better than soft ones, etc....i use a pattern during the sulpher hatch that has no wound hackle, just wing quill fibers tied in sort of a comparadun style. works great, but wont float forever either.

You are on the right track with the foam ant. deer hair is buoyant, but not near the tips, which are solid. on small flies, we usually end up just using the tips, and don't get much buoyancy. And for what its worth...sunken ants can be fantastic.

keep at it, and don't feel like you need 10 different hackles, a grizzly will be fine for whatever you want to tie.