Does the Little Lehigh have any wild browns left?

CLSports

CLSports

I have been fishing the Little Lehigh for 20+ years and not just once in a while, but quite often. I am not referring to the FFO (old Heritage section), but the entire length from headwaters down to mouth with Lehigh River. As most know, it has been on a serious decline in recent years and in the last 3 or so it seems to be even worse. I have stopped fishing most hatches there except the Tricos since it is the only one that is worth the travel time for me IMO. The last three summers I have noticed a sharp decline in the number of wild fish seen anywhere. This weekend after hitting 3 spots from 7 a.m. until 9:00 I saw very few Tricos and no wild fish. One riser in a spot I know that is stocked and there are always holdovers in there. I walked for many miles up and down in three locations over those few hours looking for fish and bugs.

The banks in the lower park have been mowed and cleared of all streamside vegetation in most of the water from the FFO section down to 15th street. It has been going on for several years and I know why, and there is little that can be done, but it is sad that the stream seems nearly devoid of any wild browns anymore.

I know the naysayers are typing now and stating they are there I am just not seeing them. Trust me. it seems as if they have been wiped out completely.

I keep going back a few times in the summer hoping for change, but it is getting worse.

If anyone would like to meet there and prove me wrong I would welcome the education. The water temps are good and I checked in several spots with springs and below confluences of other streams. The temps are fine. The silt is bad and very little structure or habitat left. The riparian buffers are gone. The steam vegetation is a distant memory. The fish have seemingly vanished too.