confusion about the leader

FFChineseman

FFChineseman

As some of you might know I am very new to fly fishing, so I am very confused about if the fast consumption of my leader is normal or I do it wrong.

When I am fishing, I will change my fly constantly trying to figure out which one might work. During the switching, the skinny part of my leader will be cutted out with the fly. After about six or seven times of changing, the top part of the leader will be gone completely, so I need to add new leader on it. (so...one set of leader is about 3-4 dollars, i might need to use like 2 sets everytime fishing )

does everybody have the same situation or just becasue i do it worng ?

You can buy spools of tippet to add on to your leader.

Whichever size leader you are using, get some of that size tippet- if you use 5x leaders, get 5x tippet. You can use a blood knot to replace the skinny (tippet) section of the leader as needed. If it gets trimmed down too far, get some heaver tippet material and rebuild it back down.

I usually use a tapered leader as is until I lose a few feet of it, then rebuild as needed with tippet material. Once too much tippet is gone from the leader, I'll usually a little 3x and build back down to 5x.

In a similar method, I invested in a couple of furled leaders this year. They've got a loop on both ends, and so I'll just pull off about 3-4' of tippet, tie a quick loop in the end and then connect it to the the loop on the end of the furled leader.

For me, at least, its been very easy to keep track of what I'm doing, and I've become no small fan of just discarding my tippet when it grows to short and tying new on, whereas the previous years I found it much harder to gauge where my tapered leader was sized, and where to cut off and tie up what, plus losing more and more with every blood knot.