confused on caddis

noclue

noclue

As some of you may know I'm new to fly fishing and have no clue about what to use and when to use it(hence the name). I was wondering if anyone would be kind enough to elaborate on how and when to use caddis flies.

noclue wrote:
As some of you may know I'm new to fly fishing and have no clue about what to use and when to use it(hence the name). I was wondering if anyone would be kind enough to elaborate on how and when to use caddis flies.

The easiest way to tell when to use a caddis is when you see them fluttering on the water. A caddis is basically an aquatic moth.

Caddis

They tend to flutter, and can be rather awkward fliers. They often skitter around on the surface of the water. When fish are taking caddis, the strikes tend to be rather aggressive or splashy.

A good secondary way to tell is to check a hatch chart for the stream, or to ask on here. The hatch chart will help you to pinpoint any major emergence, but caddis are VERY common, and are usually present.

Caddis larvae and bushy elk hair caddis flies are also very good searching patterns for the times when nothing is hatching. Even during a relatively steady hatch of mayflies or some other larger insect, an elk hair caddis will catch fish.

As with anything fly fishing, there is no concrete way to tell. Sometimes stuff just works, sometimes it doesn't. I get enjoyment out of trying to find a pattern in it, because high complexity is very easy to confuse with randomness... but this year, I'm beginning to give up and attribute some feeding activities to chance.

To me they look like a tiny moth, flutter the same and are a very light tan color. As far as when to use them. I don't think in Pa waters that you shouldn't have a collection of them in your fly box. If you want to match the hatch you can wait until you see them, but I'd fish them just to fish them. I've caught some good fish with them without a hatch.