Chunky Caddis Pupa

zenherper

zenherper

I found a cool pattern on YT and thought I would give it a try. I am new to tying, but open to suggestions. I see much more detail in the pictures after the tie is finished than I do when I am tying. I notice the ribbing is a little off and can obviously use some work there. It is supposed to be a caddis pupa. The materials are:

Hook - TCO Scud hook
Thread - Yellow 8/0
Body - Green Spanflex
Lead Wire
Rib - Small Green wire and Yellow Ostrich herl
Dubbing - Hares Ear (mix of natural and black fibers)
Wing/Casing - Yellow Wood Duck

Disclaimer: jdaddy has been my only tying mentor, so blame him if it sucks.

Attachments

• Chunky Caddis b.jpg
    Chunky Caddis b.jpg
    579.7 KB · Views: 13
  • Chunky Caddis2 b.jpg
    Chunky Caddis2 b.jpg
    489.3 KB · Views: 5
  • Chunky Caddis3 b.jpg
    Chunky Caddis3 b.jpg
    384 KB · Views: 3
Great looking caddis!

Jdaddy sucks at tying, so I blame him for your horrible pattern. Just kidding, it looks buggy, so it will work. Possibly not so much hares ear. I am new to tying as well, so take my opinion with a grain of salt.

Nice job Zenherper. This can be a tricky fly to tie especially for a beginning tyer. I had good luck with a slight variation on this pattern this year. I couldn't routinely get the legs to sit right using Davey's method (he makes everything look easy) so I switched to a soft hackle. : Soft hackle chunky caddis
Mike.

Come on now. Jdaddy taught you how to whip finish and that's about it. Lol.

They look good. As you noted ribbing is a little off but it matters more to us than the fish.

How did you land on yellow?

Was wondering the same thing.

jdaddy wrote:
Come on now. Jdaddy taught you how to whip finish and that's about it. Lol.

They look good. As you noted ribbing is a little off but it matters more to us than the fish.

How did you land on yellow?