Chances for a wild tiger trout?

wildtrout2

wildtrout2

I've always wondered if every stream that holds both native brookies and wild browns has at least one wild tiger trout, or more in it? I know the odds of this occurring in the wild are slim, and I know the odds of catching a wild tiger are even more slim, but do you think they at least exist in all of these types of streams? How about the browns to brookie ratio playing a role?
I'd put catching a wild tiger trout up there with hitting some sort of a lottery. I just find the whole wild tiger trout thing fascinating.

It is indeed a fascinating question.

I've noted on the forum before that I've been fishing small freestone streams in PA for over forty years and I have never so much as seen a wild tiger trout.

There does seem to be some evidence, mainly anecdotal, that suggests that they are a somewhat more prevalent in central and NC PA and less common in SCPA and other areas. There also seems to be some view that they turn up more in streams with more brookies and fewer browns.

There are some streams that have some reputation for producing WTT and they turn up from time to time in electro-fishing surveys, although this seems to be pretty rare.

It's a popular forum topic for discussion.

I caught a 17.4" tiger on the WB of the Delaware about 10 years ago. I wrote a letter to the NYS fisheries department and a biologist told me that in the NY/PA border waters it would be extremely rare to have a naturally occurring wild Tiger trout. He told me it was more likely that my Tiger had been stocked into a PA and had left the stream it was stocked in and swam into the WB. I caught it at least ten miles from the closest PA stocked stream that entered the WB.