catawissa creek

jrflyfish

jrflyfish

newbie here, wondering if anyone knows whats going on with catawissa creek. I know they were supposed to be cleaning it up but haven't heard anything of late.
thanks
jr

Dear jr,

In the summer of 2005 I met a contractor who was building a large scale limestone recirculating system similar to the one that Doc Fritchey TU built on the upper end of Stony Creek.

It was being built right at the outflow from the mine south of Sheppton but several miles to the east back in off a gravel road almost in West Hazleton.

I myself have wondered what ever happened? The contractor was a great guy who is still around, but I have no idea how the liming system worked?

The upper end of Catawissa Creek is some gorgeous water, mostly private, but it still shouldn't ought to be dead.

Regards,

Tim Murphy :)

TimMurphy wrote:
Dear jr,

In the summer of 2005 I met a contractor who was building a large scale limestone recirculating system similar to the one that Doc Fritchey TU built on the upper end of Stony Creek.

It was being built right at the outflow from the mine south of Sheppton but several miles to the east back in off a gravel road almost in West Hazleton.

I myself have wondered what ever happened? The contractor was a great guy who is still around, but I have no idea how the liming system worked?

The upper end of Catawissa Creek is some gorgeous water, mostly private, but it still shouldn't ought to be dead.

Regards,

Tim Murphy :)

I remember driving along the creek in the 70s when I worked in the area. It had even worse mine acid back then but I had similar thoughts about how nice the stream was. I hope there is some efforts underway to clean it up.

There is a Catawissa Creek Watershed Association and they have a web site, but they don't appear to be very active if timely update of the web site is any indication.