Casting question

B

Brmtn

Hi,

I am new to fly fishing... Just started last fall and really loving it. I tried searching for an answer to this question but maybe its not so easy to put into search terms.

When i am casting, things are generally pretty good if i stay focused and deliberate and keep the rod in a straight line.

When fishing, i often start my back cast from one spot on the stream but want my fly to land back upstream in a different place so i can drift or swing it back down.

For example; today i was fishing a stream and was casting quartering down and across and letting the fly swing to straight downstream, then wanting to repeat and move down the stream in this pattern. I was stsrting my backcast with the fly straight downstream but wanted to land it across the stream to begin the swing again... Attempting to change direction from straight back to forward and across seemed to cause a tailing loop in my cast resulting in some tangling and other weirdness.

My question is: how does one manage to keep a good loop in the line while changing direction from back cast to forward cast?

Thanks so much!

Also, great forum! I will be fishing a bit in PA (where my wife is from) and this site has been super helpful already. Any recommendations for trout or smallmouth fishing near Brookville would be welcome. And if anyone is down in SW Virginia I am happy to share what Ive learned about some of the local streams here.

Cheers
Daniel

You could strip most of the line in and just shorten the entire process; letting line out as you approach your target.

Or

Take more false cast as you cast your way back up stream.

Or

I like to use the tension of the water to load the rod and fling the flies back up stream. From there, if I would like to cast across the current you can start false casting from there.