Can you I.D this?

T

Takem

Keep seeing them around my yard. Small stream runs through it.

http://i219.photobucket.com/albums/cc35/brad-hendrickson/Mobile%20Uploads/D889BDCB-A771-4679-BEC5-32B65DA3789E_zpstnseoemh.jpg

Although it's not as orangish/yellow as the Sulfurs I'm used to seeing in central/SC, I believe it to be a Sulfur (male Dorothea), due to the pale blue wings (without venation), ||| Tails, and pale color type.

Yeah, it's a ephemerella dorothea. AKA "small sulpher" around these parts, which distinguishes it from the closely related but larger ephemerella invaria, which is our larger sulpher. In other areas these may be called pale evening duns, or PED's.

Learn all about em here, with some pics.

http://www.troutnut.com/hatch/458/Mayfly-Ephemerella-dorothea-dorothea-Pale-Evening-Dun

pcray, that is a great link on sulphurs. I am new to fly fishing and the different hatches. Over the last few weeks I have been fishing evenings during the sulphur hatch. I caught a few using a pheasant tail nymph and a sulphur dun imitation, but to be honest I got skunked most evenings. The fish would start to get active about 30 minutes before dark. I caught some of these sulphurs in my hand when they flew by, they looked to me like size 14 and 16. So, for help going forward for next year, what fly and when to use it for these sulphur's. I just think I am using the wrong fly and at the wrong time. Suggestions will be appreciated..

Fly5,

Here's a similar link on our other main type of sulpher, the invaria.

http://www.troutnut.com/hatch/11/Mayfly-Ephemerella-invaria-Sulphur-Dun

Invaria - larger (14-16). More orangish as duns and dark brown as spinners. Hatch begins a week or more before the dorothea's most years. But they definitely overlap.

Dorothea - smaller (16-18). Pale yellow or whitish as duns and spinners tend to be grayish. Hatch begins later.