camera settings

Chaz

Chaz

I know there are quite a few of you who use cameras on stream often. My question for you guys is, what ISO do you use, auto, or do you select a setting? A lot of photos that I think should be very good often come out washed out, and I think it is because of this setting.
Also do any of you use raw as your default setting for the format?

I'm just learning my new camera (Canon SX-20). It's technically a point and shoot, but it has the option of a lot of manual controls like an SLR. What it lacks, compared to SLR, is RAW capability and you can't use filters, plus the lens doesn't grab quite as much light (but still way more than a regular point and shoot). Since I've only had it a month or so and am still studying higher level photography, take the following for what its worth.

My first thought is flash. With my old camera, it always wanted to use flash on fish pics, and they'd come out washed out. No flash! You're kind of screwed at dusk with a point and shoot, there's just no way to get enough light in to bring out the colors without flash, unless your exceptionally steady handed and use long shutter times.

Generally been using the auto ISO. From the review process before I bought the camera, it seems the auto is much better from some manufacturers than from others, mine is a Canon and it does excellent. In low light conditions, I will manually raise the ISO, but thats about it, the high light pictures look fine on auto. Yes, too high an ISO setting for the conditions will result in a washed out look. What brand/model is the camera? A lot of sites have good reviews and explain what the camera is choosing for various conditions if left on auto, maybe you can get a good indication of whats going on that way.