C. Craven's Basic Fly Tying

Stagger_Lee

Stagger_Lee

Received the book abt 3 weeks ago and I’ve read thru some of it. The concept of tying 19 flies and each one building and growing certain techniques intrigues me. That said .. it’s a nice commitment but can be beneficial if I learn all the techniques. Also .. what ever fly I’m up to can use in our beginner swaps.

Have any of u gents done/followed the book when you were starting out?

Would you recommend going thru the process?

Also thinking I can just jot down the flies, youtube the patterns and choose the video I like, stay on his schedule and still build up my technique

What do u gents think?

/// I have abt 7 more days to return it back to Amazon

I had been tying for close to 15 years when I purchased that book. I consider myself a decently advanced tier. That said, I refer to that book quite a bit. Sometimes I flip through it just for the fly box and fly pictures.

While I did not follow his suggested progression, I could see where that approach would benefit a novice. Some of the flies are decidedly western (RS II), but the techniques involved offer a solid foundation.

My advice is to keep it. You could do far worse for a beginners manual.

Also, I am fairly certain tutorials for all of those flies are available on his website.

i have tied for 30+ years and i also own the book.

noone can tell you how YOU should progress but i dont see anything wrong with following charlies book. he is one of the best fly tyers in the country and know his stuff. there is not alot of you tube tyers that can come close to the quality of fly tying like charlie does. There is a few.

if you think you wont benefit from following charlies book and only want to learn techniques then get this book

63L6.jpg

I am still a novice and I did use the book as a guide to start tying flies. I found the book very helpful and the progression useful.