Buying thread from craft or fabric stores

H

hockeyref

So I know that I can buy a great deal of the stuff (foam, chenille, beads,etc) for tying at the Joanne's fabric, or Michael's crafts here in Western PA... My question is what kind of thread could I buy there that would be suitable? I mean really, they have all sorts of sizes and types of thread - and there is always some sort of sale going on...

I have used thread from stores like these, you can get some pretty cool colors. I try to find the thinnest thread and then run it through a stick of beeswax to give it some tacking to stick to your hooks and keep the color in.

I also have used the embroidery floss also.

But as a former small business owner I still do try to keep my purchases with small store owners. If we don;t support the little guys, the big guys can pretty much dictate to us what our taste will be.

This is something that I do for all of my purchases 1st.

If you have a copy of "Midge Magic" by Holbrook and Koch, they tie many flies with Coats and Clark thread. The appendix
in the back of the book has the color and number of the threads they use. Also embroidery floss too.

ref - sewing thread is typically no substitute for tying thread, because it is too thick for most applications. It can be used for ribbing, body material, etc, though. The cost of a spool of tying thread isn't much more than a spool of sewing thread, and you only need a few different colors to cover a lot of ties.

Black, white, olive, tan, brown, and pale yellow would be a good selection to start with. My favorite for all but the really tiny stuff is Danville 6/0 Flymaster waxed thread.

Besides the hook, thread is the most important part of a fly - not the place to cheap out, IMHO.

Here's a really good article on thread that may help you out.

H.A.