Biot Body CDC Dry Fly

T

tctrout

I wanted to share a pattern that has some great features to fool difficult fish in PA. This dry fly has a biot body, cdc thorax, and easy-to-tie Realistic Mayfly Wings; all are features that help to make this Biot Body CDC Dry Fly very effective. The fly also rides low, and can resemble both a dun and emerger in the water. Finally, though I tie a BWO in the video, this pattern can be modified to represent most mayflies ouy there.

If you've used biot bodies in the past, I'd love to hear about your thoughts on them, and if you add any type of reinforcement to ensure they stay secure.

Thanks for checking it out,

TC

[youtube=425,350]http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=TgkTrtUn6q8[/youtube]

Great tie TC. I'm still new to tying but having lotta fun with it. I've been reading a lot about hyper realistic flies being a little less effective and was wondering your thoughts on the subject.

pmelle wrote:
Great tie TC. I'm still new to tying but having lotta fun with it. I've been reading a lot about hyper realistic flies being a little less effective and was wondering your thoughts on the subject.

I'll add my .02 to this pmelle. When talking about super realistic flies, a lot of the downfalls (IMO) come in terms of movement. Think about say a mayflies gills, legs, tails, etc. all moving throughout the water column. With super realistic flies this often means tying with very rigid or pre-formed synthetic materials such as nymph legs or something similar and this means less or zero movement in the water.