Beginning and Indicators...

Pontus

Pontus

So I've been going out frequently over the course of the past couple weeks. My casting is pretty good. My presentation is good at some times, not so good at others. However, I'm only catching chubs. I'm new to the whole moving water fishing thing so I mistook my first chub as a very drab rainbow, since I caught it and released it very quick. Since then I've caught a bunch of these guys, some pretty big, and some pretty small, but no trout. I caught my biggest chub ever this evening on a bead head hare's ear with some red flash. I know there are trout in the waters I'm fishing, so what's the problem? Are trout just harder to catch so I'm just not good enough yet?

Also, when I bought all of my fly fishing stuff, I didn't get any indicators. I tried using a dry fly dropper rig but didn't do well, so I'm gonna need some indicators I think. I know this is a very opinionated question, but I'll take opinions at this point. Colors? Types? Sizes? I'd also like to be schooled a little bit on beginner's technique with indicator nymphing. Should I always use a beadhead nymph for the weight?

I'm pretty new to nymphs too, but I have used two type of indicators. The first is Fish Pimp indicators. Football shaped, foam. The dead drift setup explained on the package required you to put the indicator on first. If you forgot to do it, you'd have to start over. They were a pain, but what did I know? Then Sight_nymph introduced me to Thingamabob indicators. I don't have much experience with them, but they worked much better for me. Floated higher, and easily moved up and down your leader. And once you put them on, they stay on. I suggest them. For slower moving water, get smaller indicators, since they'll be more sensitive to takes. Faster water, bigger indicators. As far as color, I think it's just personal preference.

This is just my two cents, but I hope it helps. I'll let the beadhead question up to the more experienced anglers.