Beginner Question about dry flies.

S

skeeter bite

I just finished up my first season of fly fishing for trout. I've learned quite a bit about what doesn't work but still have a long way to go. This season I only fished nymphs and streamers, never cast a single dry fly.
My question is, can I use dry flies to 'locate' fish? I understand the theory about 'hatches' but often when I was fishing, nothing was hatching that I could determine. My background is bass fishing and often times I've used a top water bait to produce a strike when conditions were right. Are there 'attractor' type dry flies that I can use to produce a strike when no hatch is taking place? I'm thinking something that imitates a grasshopper, ant, or bee, Is this a realistic approach? Any comments on this would be appreciated.
One of the most important things I learned this season was to buy a wading staff and never go fishing without it.

Yes, for sure. Terrestrials like ants and grasshoppers are part of a trout's natural diet and they don't fall into a stream with the same frequency that a stonefly, mayfly or caddis hatches, so you're not likely to see fish rising to them anyway. Keep in mind that on many/most streams, at least the less fertile freestone streams, trout are likely almost always hungry, so they will hit a dry even when no hatch is visible or obvious. When you fish for wild Brookies or other wild trout in small freestones, they're almost always hungry and will often hit dry flies even in winter or times of very cool water when hatching insects are rare.