Beginner Fly tying question

Weaves

Weaves

I hope I sized this photo properly.

I wasn't sure whether this is a question for the Beginner's forum or Fly Tying, but here goes...

I'm new at fly fishing and that rapidly let to fly tying. I tied a few Zebra Midge pattern flies for winter trout, and I tied them in 14, 16, and size 20. The attached photo is a size 20.

I noticed that I had a lot of trouble hooking trout with the size 20 hook. When I switched to a larger hook size, I caught two rainbows. Both were hooked in the upper lip. (And there was nothing like the feeling like catching a trout on a fly I tied, even if they were less than perfect).

Questions...

Is the bead too large for the size #20 ? (I think it was 7/64")

Was my hook setting too slow?

I'll take any advice on the fly that I tied or anything else regarding setting the hook using smaller flies.

Weaves

Attachments

• Midge Beadhead2.jpg
    Midge Beadhead2.jpg
    93.6 KB · Views: 11
Use 2mm beads on size 20

The bead is too large. I don't think it's a case of your hook set being too slow. I've always been of the opinion that if a fish eats your fly, it eats your fly and the timing of your hook set doesn't really have a lot to do with it. Sometimes you just don't get a solid hook up and the fish gets off.

Yep, the bead is a little largish...you'd get better hookups with a smaller bead. and you could probably skip the herl on a zebra that size....I don't use herl on any of my zebra's and they catch fish...It's a matter of personal choice...

If I was a trout I'd eat it.

Thanks for the advice guys.

I took a 2nd try at the Zebra Midge on a #20. I picked up some smaller beads last week. These beads are 5/64". I had a feeling the original ones were too large.

Can you guys take a look at this one and let me know any other things I could improve?

The one on the left was the orignial, the one on the right is the new one.

Thanks for your help guys.

Weaves

Attachments

• Zebra Midge Redo.jpg