Backpacking/Fly Fishing Trip in NE PA

H

hartfor6

Hey Everyone!

TLDR Version: Hello, nice to meet y'all! Looking for a Backpacking/Fly Fishing spot with wild trout within a few hours of Philly. Any help would be super great!

I am new to this site so I want to say hello! Looking forward to learning from everyone.

I am also fairly new to fly fishing, I started in the spring of 2021. Not many of my friends are into fly fishing, so I am usually alone when it comes to researching new spots and my family is from Michigan, so I have had to start from scratch and build the base knowledge of locating good trout streams and all that goes into it. Luckily, I have been blessed with a wife that really enjoys to do all of the things that I like to do like backpacking and fly fishing. I taught her how to cast last year and she is really loving being out on the water with me. We even got a fly tying station for Christmas, which she broke out before me.

With that said, I know people don't generally like to give away their secret spots, especially a remote spot, but I'm having a really difficult time with this one. We are looking to do a long weekend backpacking/fly fishing trip this coming spring and I would like to find a trail that leads to a good creek where we can hike into, fish for a day or two and then hike out. We are located a little west of Philadelphia and willing to drive a couple hours. Ideally, it would be a trail that leads to a remote creek with some wild trout and we can hike in and set up camp for a day or two. Is anyone willing to help a little and at least lead me in the right direction? Is this even common in PA?

If you are unwilling to share an exact creek maybe you could help me understand the best way to find a creek with a trail that leads to it. Just having a difficult time with this one.

Any help would be greatly appreciated!

Chris

Last edited: