Auto

Baron

Baron

I guess as a beginner I should give more credence to newer trends and better technology but I have aways thought that 'click and pawl' reels were so classy looking and I'm actually fishing with a couple of caddis creek reels at this point. I had but broke an old Wye that was magnificent. I don't yet know what it is like to catch a heavy line-testing fish i.e. a 5lb bass or the like but there haven't been any trout, panfish or pickerel that the old rod/reel combo can't handle. I do hope to have a reel with a conventional drag someday but it is not yet in the budget.
That being said I have noticed reels for sale that are called automatics. I believe they reel in your loose line by pulling a little lever. Seems like that may be just the ticket in small secluded areas when on the prowl for panfish. When back in the stumps in the drift boat its hard to stay clean enough.

Do any of you have them? Were they the go-to years ago? Anyone still using one?

Then there are also Multipliers but lets not go there yet.......

Drag is completely unnecessary 98% of the time in PA. Some situations where it might be helpful: Upper Delaware, Erie tribs. Drag is important in saltwater where fish can run fast and long. The weight of the fish is not what necessitates drag. I seriously doubt 1 large bass will give you a problem if you do not have a reel with drag.

Look up "palming a fly reel". Because the rim of a standard fly reel is exposed, your non-rod had becomes your drag.

A light click and pawl will work fine with most graphite rods, but a large arbor reel (usually comes with disc or clutch drag) is helpful in that it picks up line much more quickly than a standard arbor reel.