Anyone got Blue Wing Olive emerger suggestions?

P

PaScoGi

In all the entomology books I see Blue Wing Olives appear more brownish. Yet all the emerger patterns on youtube seem to be more green.

Really splitting hairs here I know. But what do y'all use if theres an (emerging) BWO hatch? Not talking about duns or spinners. Im talking about when theres BWOs hatching & trout are eating them before they reach surface.

If I were to tie a small soft hackle to imitate this, should I use materials that are more brownish olive or greenish olive. Or any other patterns you suggest.

Thanks for any help.

Here’s the pattern I’ve been using with success for many years on lots of streams with BWOs: I use a #18 or #20 scud type hook. For the tail or trailing shuck, I use a blue gray Antron yarn about a hook length. For the body, I use 8/0 Danville Flymaster thread in olive. It has more of a brown olive hue which matches the natural more than the Uni thread olive. I tie all my wet flies/ emergers and dries #18 and smaller with thread bodies. You get a tighter segmented body. For the wing I used a tuft of gray muskrat fur from the skin tied on top of the hook behind the eye of the hook. You can also use gray rabbit from a zonker strip. Once tied in , cut the wing so it is about one third the length of the hook shank. For legs I use dyed dun mallard, dun hackle fibers or partridge. Tie them in throat style. It’s a small fly so be careful, not to crowd the eye. You don’t have to add legs.
IMG 1377
IMG 1376
IMG 1376

Pattern I'm working on. Variation on the Breadline emerger.
Shuck material of choice
Olive turkey biot body
Dun hackle is mostly for legs, trimmed top and bottom
Poly wing in dun