Another Salmon River Post

Tigereye

Tigereye

Was on the river this past weekend and noticed a lot of switch rods. Got to talking to a guy who said that a lot of folks are using 10-11ft 8 wt switch rods and overlining with 9 or 10 wt lines. Makes chuck and duck "casting" a bit easier. He let me take his rig for a test ride and will admit it was easier. Eliminated the need for a lot of weight to load the rod. He also mentioned some people have been "customizing" a shooting head and WF lines to ease casting.

Any of you guys have the specific for this set up/ technique? Leader length/strength. How do you "customize" a SH line?

No need to really customize anything. I have been doing this for several years up there. I have a 11'-3" 7 wt switch rod for Steel. I use a 5 or 10 ft. sink tip in various grain weights to get down in different currents/water depths. These are attached to the end of my Skagit short shooting head which is attached to a running line. This combo or similar will get the fly down quickly as opposed to any weights on the line. Switch rods seem to have taken over up there in the past several years. It certainly helps to reach the less pressured fish too.

Tigereye wrote:
Was on the river this past weekend and noticed a lot of switch rods. Got to talking to a guy who said that a lot of folks are using 10-11ft 8 wt switch rods and overlining with 9 or 10 wt lines. Makes chuck and duck "casting" a bit easier. He let me take his rig for a test ride and will admit it was easier. Eliminated the need for a lot of weight to load the rod. He also mentioned some people have been "customizing" a shooting head and WF lines to ease casting.

Any of you guys have the specific for this set up/ technique? Leader length/strength. How do you "customize" a SH line?