Advice on flies and tying equipment

Weible1

Weible1

Hey guys I am looking for some info on what flies I should be stocking up on. I am just starting to learn how to nymph so I need to know what patterns I should be getting. I fish the LeTort, and most of the famous streams in CV and the state college area, so any flies you do well on please feel free to share. I have gained interest in tying flies. I really don't know where to begin. I was considering purchasing a kit from basspro or cabelas, but I really don't know what to look for. Please feel free to chime in, and please teach me. Ever since I joined the forum I have done nothing but learned and it is great. I am always looking for some fishing buddies. Thank you for all in advance! ... I am young and like to waste money if that makes a difference

There are some fly fishing shows coming to the area in the next few weeks. You may enjoy going to one of those, you will certainly be able to waste plenty of money there.
As far as a kit I believe you will get a bunch of advice Not to get a kit. Its usually crappy equipment with substandard materials. Buy a nice vice, good scissors and other assorted tools.

For flies I would pick out a few nymphs that can be used all over like pheasant tails and hare's ears.
Then find a class. Bass pro has free ones in the winters and there are a bunch of videos on you tube. I like the Davie McPhail videos and Tying with Hans for some easy patterns.
A class will give you the basics and from there I learn with the laptop propped near the vice with the videos running, and pausing:)

pheasent tails with and without beads. sizes 12-24
scuds tan olive 12-20
cress bugs (you can some times get away with scuds)14-22
brown nymphs (look similar to pheasent tails.)
march brown nymphs(12-16)
hares ear nymphs in dark tan light tan black and olive 8-22
black stone(big to 16) (the black hare nymphs are generics but sometimes you need better not the montana stone )
golden stone woven (12-16)