Advice for Studs on Simms Stream-Tred

C

crs5942

I recently bought a pair of Simms boots with the Stream-Tred Vibram rubber soles. I was wondering if anyone has experience or advice with the optional studs and star cleats that can be put on to the soles. Is one better than the other? Are the 1/4" Simms hex studs really any better than the ones at the hardware store? How do these Simms studs and cleats hold up to long distance walking? Any opinions or experiences would be appreciated. Thank you.

I have no experience with the star cleats, but I have been using the regular hard-bite studs from Simms for several years.

Are the 1/4" Simms hex studs really any better than the ones at the hardware store?

Yes, they are better because they have carbide (an incredibly hard substance) in the head and they don't wear out like normal machine screws would. You can expect several years of wear from the Simms studs, while you might have to replace standard steel or aluminum hex screws several times per year due to wear.

I have yet to apply my star studs. Right now I'm fishing Simms vibrams..The advice givem me was to only use a few of them towards the heel of the sole..I woudn't over do it...And you can always twist them off for boat fishing.

not sure about simms but chota came out this year with a pointed carbon steel stud that i have yet to try but i have heard they grip like mad. when my studs are gone , hopefully by march (hehee ) i am gonna purchase the new carbon studs ($20 )

The simms studs last forever, sheet metal screws dont last long if you walk way distances

You can buy a stainless steel hex head screw that last a long time and is still cheap, we used to use snowmobile studs (aka hexhead srews hardened) might get them cheap too. for the price of hex heads I'll stick with them. i keep some xtras in my van for my boots.