A Couple Flies I Tied

BelAirSteve

BelAirSteve

I'm new to this and looking for some feedback. I tied these two yesterday. The first is a bead head teeny nymph with some olive hares ear dubbing behind the bead. Although I haven't fished with midges yet, I think they look cool and tied this one. It's red midge flash and peacock ice dub.

Attachments

• DSC_0051.JPG
    DSC_0051.JPG
    217.3 KB · Views: 9
  • DSC_0052.JPG
    DSC_0052.JPG
    242.4 KB · Views: 5
I would fish em. Good stuff.

Thanks Jay. Hey, as I look a little closer at the midge, do you think I could have started the body a little lower on the curve of the hook. The thorax looks a little out of proportion to the body.

Yeah, I would either do that or use a smaller hook.

On smaller hooks, I like to offset the point to one side or the other to increase hookups. Credit to Padraic for that tip.

BelAirSteve wrote:
Thanks Jay. Hey, as I look a little closer at the midge, do you think I could have started the body a little lower on the curve of the hook. The thorax looks a little out of proportion to the body.

Not only that but you can go back now and make the abdomen longer with no trouble...

Very nice!! They will catch fish. If these are some of your first flies, they are really good. Save them and look at them in 6 months and see the difference in your tying. You will be surprised!!

tomgamber wrote:

Not only that but you can go back now and make the abdomen longer with no trouble...

Good point...never thought of that. Regarding whheff's comment, they are NOT some of my first. I have been tying for about 2 months. I did save some of my original pheasant tails, and although they would probably catch fish too, they are entertaining to look at...proporations way off...way too much thread...all those things.

As a new tyer, if there are any other newbies reading this, pay close attention to what these guys tell you here. It is very valuable and useful information.