8wt combo question

daman1277

daman1277

I have fished with anything bigger than a 5wt. Seeing as how I am still relatively new to fly fishing. But decided I want something for salmon, steelhead and toothy critters if I get the chance. So in looking for one I saw Cabela's has their 8wt Cahill rod and reel combo on sale. Was wondering if this is worthwhile getting to use for the application I want or should I get something different. I can always get a different reel for it I know.

daman1277 wrote:
I have fished with anything bigger than a 5wt. Seeing as how I am still relatively new to fly fishing. But decided I want something for salmon, steelhead and toothy critters if I get the chance. So in looking for one I saw Cabela's has their 8wt Cahill rod and reel combo on sale. Was wondering if this is worthwhile getting to use for the application I want or should I get something different. I can always get a different reel for it I know.

I looked up the outfit you mentioned above and don't think an 8 wt rod, reel and line for $39.99 is going to be of much use for salmon, steelhead or muskie.

Check on the swap section on here and maybe go to ebay. You can usually find a decent quality used setup for a fair price that will hold up to the kind of fishing you plan to do.

I'm also looking at a redington 9' 9wt pursuit combo for sale on here. But the Cahill price is great.

The rod is actually decent for the money, but the reel wont stand up to those fish. Maybe once. It would be a good way to check it out and then upgrade the reel if you decide you like it. just my .02

Buy the Redington outfit that is listed here. The deal says everything you need...line etc. I think you will be in much better off trying to handle a salmon with a 9 wt. and if you are going to travel that far you might as well have a decent outfit.
my 2 cts

Bill A