1st time Euro nymphing

A

a23fish

To say there is a steep learning curve is an understatement. Granted, I have only been fly fishing 2 years and frankly, I'm not that good with a 9' 5Wt beginners fly rod using WF5F fly line. However, after reading about Euro/tight line nymphing for the past year, I decided to give it a go and tied up my own mono rig to try it out. On my Orvis Encounter 9' fly rod. I know that is not a Euro nymphing rod but I'm not spending a bunch of money on a specific nymphing rod before I dip my toe in the water. Which I did this afternoon.

I caught no fish and had no detectable bites. Not a shock because none of the other 5 anglers I encountered were having any luck either. But I kept at it. I discovered several things:

1. Casting is enormously different. I expected this and took a while to make adjustments. I got marginally better, but still couldn't put the flies where I wanted about 3/4 of the time. For perspective, when I'm casting with my normal fly line I can't put the flies where I want them about 1/2 of the time.
2. It was difficult to stay in touch with the flies, probably because I was not using heavy enough flies.
3. I found myself following the flies during the drifts rather than leading them.
4. I also found myself getting lazy and not keeping the sighter out of the water, thus ensuring there was unnecessary slack in the line.

Like I said, a steep learning curve. But I'm not giving up. It sure looks easier on all those YouTube videos than it does when you try it yourself the first time.