Interesting article on RB trout

afishinado

afishinado

Staff member
FYI. A really interesting article on the history of stocking rainbows. IMO, worth a few minutes to read.

http://chronicle.com/article/One-Strange-Fish-Tale/64348/

Great article! Thanks for the link Afish.

Honestly, I'm not a rainbow basher and would like to believe I've got a nuanced view on the popular tendency these days to look back 50 years or more and decry (what are so obviously in hindsight) the blunders of game and fish management from those days. AHhh yes....we're so much more wiser now.....
But are we really?

I work in the history field and see this form of hubris all the time: judging folks from generations past based on our values today. It's not entirely wrong to do this - I just think we need to maintain some respect for previous generations who did their best based on their scientific knowledge, political realities, and the cultural values of the day.

In many respects , the rainbow trout has been a great success story (ditto for large and smallmouth bass) and I think, in the interest of being fair and objective, we ought to celebrate some of that success in combination with the many negative (and some downright comical) affects of this fish's legacy.

Again, good article.

Hello all,
Thanks for the post. I am the author of this book.
First let me say that I like to think I have a nuanced view of this fish as well. Believe me, this book is not about bashing decisions made 50 years ago. It is about understanding how we came to be where we are today.
There is more information about the book and some photos, etc. at my website: http://andershalverson.com
The book was recently reviewed by the Washington Post here.
I also recently discussed the book on the Diane Rehm show here.
Anders