Which Vise?

J

jmflyfisher

I have a Regal vise that I've been using for over 25 years. It does a great job, but lately I've been seeing a lot of Renzetti and Dyna-King rotary style vises in some of the tying videos I've watching. Is there an advantage to one of vises when it comes to tying big streamers and bass bugs? I can use mine in a rotary fashion, but have never really tried.

I've been using a Thompson A vise for close to 40 years. I know there had been great advances in vises since then, actually tried the rotaries and went back to old faithful, just couldn't get the hang of a rotary but truthfully didn't put all that much effort into learning.

If you stop in a Cabela's or Bass Pro shops I'm sure they will let you take one for a test drive. Maybe it will work for you maybe it won't. Never know unless you try.

jmflyfisher wrote:
Is there an advantage to one of vises when it comes to tying big streamers and bass bugs? I can use mine in a rotary fashion, but have never really tried.

I'm not sure there is much of an advantage.

I tie a lot of big streamers, salt stuff, and bass flies and, although I currently use a rotary vise, I still wrap my turns old school. I've tried the rotary function and have not found it especially compelling. Perhaps this is due to being an older fly tier like many of you... who may just have muscle memory and a tendency to stick with what has always worked.

Agree that giving one a try at a shop or from a friend would be helpful. Keep in mind that, if you get one, you can strill wrap the old way.

If you don't mind spending a little I would go with ths stonfo transformer https://shop.flyfishsd.com/products/stonfo-transformer-vise?utm_medium=cpc&utm_source=googlepla&variant=16714293061&gclid=EAIaIQobChMIlvHS6J_Z1QIVxiOBCh2KYwHsEAQYASABEgIAJfD_BwE

With the three different head attachments that change over in seconds, the Stonfo Transformer works well.