Vises

Stagger_Lee

Stagger_Lee

I’m no artist but hopefully my ties get me and my newbie amigos some fish ... very much enjoy tying. I’m thinking of looking at some vises (and possibly upgrading) if I pass a shop in my travels. So I'm prepared ....

What should I look for?

Vises Under $200 Who U Got (would go up a lil more if I really like a vise)?

Why u got’em?

Rotary yes, no, why?

Much appreciated and will have some more ?'s as I do my own research.

If you want a "true" rotary vise, you buy a Renzetti.
If you don't want one, you buy a Regal.
If you want to come in under budget, you can't beat the Griffin Spider.

That said, your garden variety Thompson A clone will continue to work just fine.

Every post after this will simply hash out those same facts in long, drawn out arguments that don't really matter and inevitably circle back around each other repeatedly.

You spend your money, you make your choice.

I have a Peak Rotary Vise....quick google search shows they are still $150. I have no complaints at all....the base is sturdy, has a true rotary function, claims to hold 2/0 to 24 (I have had 4 3xl to 24 easily), decent looking.

There are probably better vises cosmetically but this functions really well.

I don't use the rotary feature to wrap many materials as I find it slower for me but I do use it to view the back of the fly and tie materials on in different places easier. I will not tie on a non-rotary vise.

Overall I would say it is a good buy but if you are new to tieing and really enjoying it and want to progress then you may be better served picking 5-10 new fly patterns to learn and investing in nice materials for them then getting a new vise

+1 on the Peak Rotary same as above

I use a Danvise. It's a rotary and it's relatively in expensive. I replaced my original one, it lasted ten years, two years ago and it cost me $80. I've used it to tie flies from size 32, many years ago, up to 6/0.