Proper approach to fly fishing?

buck75

buck75

Hey all,

I am new to fly fishing and wanted to get your take on the proper approach to fly fishing. I picked up the most necessary gear (rod/reel, flies, waders, etc) and I have been out a few times so far this year. I should mention that I talked one of my friends into trying fly fishing this year and he also picked up the necessary equipment to get started.

The few times I've been out, I haven't expected to catch any fish as I know that I've got a lot to learn about fly fishing. In essence, I've been treating those few times as practice runs. Meaning that I haven't been paying much attention to the flies that I've got tied to the end of the line and have been working on technique, placement, etc.

I have to say that I've learned quite a bit on my own from the experience in relation to fishing in tight quarters with branches, trees or other obstacles while out there. It's not the same as practicing in my backyard where I can load up and get 40 feet of line out.

Am I setting myself up for failure by not paying attention to hatches and appropriate conditions or should I continue to focus on technique(s) until I am more comfortable?

Thanks for any and all input!

buck75 wrote:

Am I setting myself up for failure by not paying attention to hatches and appropriate conditions or should I continue to focus on technique(s) until I am more comfortable?

Thanks for any and all input!

Welcome aboard.

I think you are doing it EXACTLY right. And I mean EXACTLY right. So many folks get a bunch of gear and obsess over "what fly, what fly, what fly?" when it absolutely does not matter as they are approaching the stream spooking fish, casting poorly and getting poor drag filled drifts. I think we will all admit that the actual fly is almost an after thought to the more important items such as approach, drift, presentation, reading the water, etc.