Trip to central PA

Ggrove

Hi all, I am new to this forum so any help is appreciated. This coming weekend, I am planning to make a trip to state college to fish the well known streams (Planning on Spring, Penns, and the little J). I am from western PA so I consider it a little bit of a treat to myself. I have never been on spring or penns, but do have some experience on the LJ. That being said, I was wondering how they are producing this time of year, and if that would change with the upcoming rain this week. Also if it is even worth making the 2.5 hour trip out. I plan to leave Saturday afternoon and get back Sunday night. I am a high school student, so my time is pretty limited, and I want to make the most of it. As aforementioned, any advice is greatly appreciated. Thank you!

My opinion is that hitting all 3 of those with such little time is a futile effort. Id likely pick 1 depending on your sleeping arrangements. Or pick spring for the shorter evening outing on Saturday while everyone is at the Penn state game and hit the little J on your way home Sunday.

Since you are from southwestern PA and you only have on day, I would just fish the Little J. It is the closest to you, and it is all you need.

There are plenty of fish there to be caught. Just go to the public land and give her hell.

As someone who also has limited time (jobs, family) and drives from the PGH area to CPA to fish, here is my advice:

• Go fishing when you can, not when the conditions allow. If it is too warm for trout, fish bass. If the rivers are super low/clear but cold - fish broken water. If the rivers are blown out, fish as high up into the headwaters as you can go, or fish big streamers in the slow/slack water.